Wage and hour laws in California protect workers from being taken advantage of by their employers. California has some of the strongest worker protection laws in the country. The following is some basic information about California wage and hour laws in California that you may find helpful.
The minimum wage in California $13 an hour for employers who have up to 25 employees. Employers who have over 25 employees have a minimum wage of $14 an hour. Over the next couple of years, the minimum wage is set to increase to $15 an hour. Many cities across California have established a minimum wage that is over than the state’s minimum wage. Cities such as Los Angeles and Alameda have a minimum wage of $15 an hour. An attorney who specializes in employment law can help their client understand their city’s wage requirements.
Meals and breaks
Wage and hour laws in California include rules about meals and rest breaks for employees. An employee who is scheduled for more than 5 consecutive hours is entitled to a 30-minute meal break. An employee is also entitled to a 10-minute break for each four-hour period of work. These breaks must be free of work obligations.
There are several rules governing overtime in California. An employee will earn 1.5 times their pay if they work more than 8 hours in a single day and more than 40 hours in a week or an employee works up to 8 extra hours on the 7th consecutive day in one week.
An employee will receive double their pay if they work more than 12 hours in a single workday or more than 8 hours on the 7th consecutive day in a workweek.
If an employee believes their employee is violating California’s wage and hour laws, they may want to speak with an employment lawyer. An attorney can investigate the circumstances surrounding the violations and discuss the options their client may have.